Dog and Dragon, paperback

I believe – no one tells authors these things, what do they have to do with their books? and of what possible interest could it be to their readers and followers, after all? – that the Paperback launch of DOG & DRAGON was today. I believe Barnes and Noble and Simon and Schuster (who do a laughable -in the if I don’t laugh I’m gonna cry sense job of distribution of my books for Baen) are having a ‘how’s-your-father’ which means B&N have apparently reduced their order by 90% – only taking bestsellers. So: if you haven’t got a copy, if you want a copy, or want to support a struggling author to the princely tune of 7.99 (yes, I will get 64 cents of that :-)) – please, it’s available.

(that’s a link, folks, if you click on the picture. I get almost just as much from you using that link to buy this (as well as any other Amazon products you happen to buy at the same time) as I do from my publisher. Also, I get it sooner.)

It’s also there as an e-book. I’m not sure how much I’ll be paid for that, but I am almost sure something.

The link however good for me :-)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Dog and Dragon, paperback

  1. Reblogged this on Cedar Writes and commented:
    This is a really good book, I always enjoy Dave’s work, but this one caught me in a way few books do. I have re-read it twice now, and it’s just better every time. I have a weakness for border collies, and Dileas is a very special dog. The Dragon Fionn is a wonderful character, he reminds me strongly of someone special.

  2. Book prices make me rage. It’s $1 difference between the kindle and the paper copy although the publisher and distributors save SO MUCH money selling electronic format. I’d buy the paper copy for my shelf if only I could read the text – I’m seriously not a fan of Baen’s text size :(
    And the whole thing about how much authors get paid – 64 cents per paper book! I wonder if the dedicated publicity team who has ensured the world knows Dog And Dragon has been released will be paid as much or more than the author [snark]

    • Um. This is really one of those ‘Old lies catch up with us’ cases. For years, as the prices of books were steadily raised… we were told ‘It’s the cost of paper/printing.’ (and the hoary old chestnut, ‘authors deserve to be paid well’ – which is true, perhaps for some, but they were the very smallest beneficiary of those rises). The truth of course is that paper and printing are quite cheap, and the process got a lot cheaper with electronic typesetting. They always made a very small proportion of the overall cost. Less than the dollar difference between e-book and print. The rest of the money was REALLY absorbed by 1)The cost of New York – offices and living. 2)The cost of debt – those HUGE advances paid to a handful of bestsellers are borrowed money. The cost however is equally spread across all the books. 3)the cost of promoting those bestsellers so they can recover the advance. Once again, a cost shared by all, equally, despite the fact that books under 20K advance (and I have never got near that) get none other than standard insert in catalogue stuff. The expenditure there is typically half the advance. None of these factors make books any better, and all of them could in fact be dispensed with. Even distribution can be very cheap (the publishers and distributors choose to do it in the most expensive way… because they can).

      But these reasons would have infuriated the buying public who were told instead that the physical product costs were substanive and increasing, and the authors (who get between 6 and 8% of the US cover price – retail, distribution and the publishers getting the rest. Authors were too trapped to speak up: tell the world and you’ll never publish again (if you were a bestseller of course the terms improve, and, honestly, the red carpet is rolled out for you, at the expense of the rest of the authors. The scary part is that bestseller numbers are not that vast either.).

      Now… we have e-books… and the reading public, like yourself say ‘why isn’t it MUCH cheaper? It should be. All that expensive stuff went away! And timid little voices answer ‘well actually the main costs are… uh, editoral… and and uh cover and um proof reading.’ These things are real costs of course. But the vast pachyderms in the room are the costs of NY, cost of debt, cost of promotion to recover that debt – getting less effective by the day as they’re still operating like it was 1980. No-one is answering why they lied to us, previously.

      Of course that doesn’t answer why books, imported from a publisher at US$3.50, and possible to do so, sea freight, at a cents a time, should cost more than $20 here – of which the author STILL only sees 64 cents (US) – which truly infuriates me.

Leave a Reply

